Train vs Bike (or the social part of cycling)

Normally I use a racing bike to get to work. But yesterday evening I had an appointment in my hometown. So instead of arriving there all sweaty after work, I chose to go exceptionally by train. During the day the news spread that there were major problems with the electricity between two important Antwerp train stations. To make a long story short. It took me 1u20 (twice the time to cover the distance by bike) to get home and had to cancel my appointment. But (and this is the most important part) I’ve noticed that complete strangers, while waiting in overcrowded trains, started talking to each other. Thanks NMBS for getting people out of their individual space and communicate with each other!!!  The conclusion? There should be more major train problems? I prefer riding my bike, including the often very nice conversations on the way!!! Thanks fellow bikers for this social part of cycling!!!

Schermafbeelding 2012-11-27 om 20.12.49 Schermafbeelding 2012-11-27 om 20.14.01

Leave a Reply

